Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-12-15 - tillthen


reaching toward the light
planted in rich soil

tried to get it right
now I must recoil

these are private thoughts
I reveal here

don't you read them
don't believe them

let them disappear

I reserve them for a time
I preserve them in a rhyme

missives to a dream that wouldn't fade
all the many poems that I have made

locked up in a treasure chest of dreams
heartfelt overflowing at the seams

but would it be wrong
to sing you a song
singing out loud
to a gathering crowd?

would it be bad
if I were to add
next song on cue -
I sing it to you?

with a nod and a look in your eyes
would this come about a surprise?

I did it for love
which should be enough

but at times I got lost in the crowd
and heard myself singing aloud

expressing what should have been kept
for the one I should marry...

except...

there's things unresolved in my heart
and I didn't know how/where to start

so I sang it for all it was worth
and I mixed in some beck and rare earth

some stones and some them
some verse (eminem)

some vaudville and broadway review
things borrowed and sampled
and true

and gave it my all just for you
I did what I did just for you.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!