Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-02 - hushmybaby

Put those passions off to bed

Lullabye them all to sleep

Calm the madness in your head

Pray the Lord your soul to keep

Someday when your body's dead

When you sow all that you reap

Dirtnap covers you instead

of cosmetics, cotton, sheep,

fabrics spun on looms with thread

mills and factories in too deep

deep in debt, stuck in the red,

where children work to eat and sleep

live a life of fear and dread

slippery slope, uncertain, steep...

poverty and rat bite bred

mankind takes a giant leap

sweet aroma flower bed

near the landfill's putrid reek

sunshine on a mushroom cloud

suicidal burial shroud

apple razor bladed trust

all that sprouts returns to dust

only one thing satisfies

only truth sees through the lies

there's one way to be set free

(the prison was inside of me)

my heart sleeps until the day

when my spirit flies away

when the oil lamp wick is trimmed

when the friend through thick and thin

comes to take his bride away

all reserves are on display

time is metered out in grace

real love respects your space

I found out along the way

as I took the time to pray

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!