Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-09-10 - whide awayke

it's early AM on a Sunday morn,
I'm working at the plant feeling slightly torn
I love this job. and I hate it too.
there's so many things that I'd rather do.

have a cup of coffee and a cigarette.
it's hard to stay awake without these vices, yet:
it's very clear, as the time draws near,
some day soon gonna get outta here.

60 Hz hum and a back up alarm
alerting tired minds of potential harm.
5 nights down, 2 more to go.
on and on it goes without much to show.
But someday soon, it occurs to me,
from this smokestack moon I will be set free.

Yes, someday soon, and I pray it's true,
my exodus will be overdue

sign the log book over and I'm out the gate
over railroad tracks in a sleepy state
down the winding roads by the fishing lake
to the quiet solace where I take my break
close the door behind me and the time's all mine
here I have a space in the grand design
here I have a place and it feels fine
but time keeps moving on and it leaves behind
all the little things that are on my mind.

I think about the summers of my younger years
working midnight shifts, shifting times, shifting gears
station pumps, oil dumps, gasoline,
navy ships, docks and slips, magazines,
satellites, bits and bytes, floor wax sheens,
smoke and ash, system crash, coffee beans...

all those watches in the night when thoughts and dreams collide
gently crashing on the shores of islands in the tide
of the rising swells of cycles on which nomads ride
there's a myriad of moments all right here inside
waiting for expression like the dawn with a bride.

engines echo in the night
train tracks chugging doused in flight
pointing angles track the height
azimuth, altitude, and sight
fog retreating from the light
memories and appetite
hungry hearts and hollow haunts
claim intentions here
like the tavern tempts and taunts
a drinker with no beer
all the things that happen here are gone when day arrives
and I've lived in the places in between just to survive
but one day I know, I feel it's so, I'll walk into the light
and say goodbye to dreaming while awake all through the night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!