Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-31 - getoverit

let your mind relax

let your body chill

as the words I fax

through the room or mill

or wherever it is that you now peruse

endless data bits, neutered cyber news,

coded script points in the X-Y-Z

loaded tips with joints all commercially

designed to sell you what they do

combined to tell you who knows who

says, "try this," "eat this," "please repeat this,"

that's not where you are right now

just let down your guard somehow

and read on as I tell this tale

about a love that's not for sale

now some have mentioned

love unpretentioned

an unconditional deal

a good intentioned

heart invention

that rushes in to heal

and we must admit it's true

it sounds good to me and you

but I came to this decision

when I was quite naiive

that apart from divine vision

I would party while on leave

or after working hours

or when I got a break

or when the higher powers

were not fully awake

and so it was

as was my style

I'd cop a buzz

or stash a vial

or head out to the liquor store

with an eye toward what I was living for

medicate and hide

from what I knew inside

had been unleashed in me

occultic pharmacy

I got out of the car

I hadn't gone too far

when a long and lanky bible thumper, bearded, bold and raw

called out loud and said to me, "Hey there, blah blah blah..."

I tried to get around him and continue toward the store

(after buying liquor we were going out to score!)

but he persisted as I dis'd him, "hey where are you goin?"

I said, "I'm buyin liquor and after that who's knowin"

"naw! you don't want to do that, why don't you come inside?"

and gestured toward a building all red/white/blue with pride

by that time, Steve, my drinking bud came walking up and grinned

the bearded bible thumper turned to him and preached of sin

"come on, Steve, we don't have time, we'd better count the cost..."

that's when the wild fanatic said to me, "you must be lost"

I said, "Like good ol' Davey Crocket always used to say

I've never really been lost just confused for a few days"

He said, "well tell me, mister, do you know what it means to be saved?"

when I said, "you mean washed in the blood?" you'd a thought his beard got shaved

he said, "well YEAH, in fact, THAT'S EXACTLY WHAT I MEAN

where did you hear about that?"

I said, "I know all about that scene..."

He looked at me with piercing, penetrating, narrowed eyes

He looked me up and down, and finally surmised,

"I've never heard someone so dispassionately tell

about the blood of Jesus, man, I believe you're going to hell."

I turned away and mumbled something, "biblebeltennessee"

no matter how I tried I couldn't shake those words off me

I cursed him all night long after we were out of there

we never scored the bag and I lost my drink somewhere

my friends said, "take it easy Wink, don't let it bother you"

I shrugged and played it off I think but deep inside I knew

it ate at me,

fanatically,

how damn dare he

judgementally

say some B.S. so carelessly

it stuck in me

quite painfully

and that you see

is how slowly

I started to be thinking

that maybe it was time for me to smell what's really stinking

it's not the world around you, though problems factor in,

it's more what now surrounds you,resultant from your sin,

you need to let what I now tell you sink into your head

unless you now believe in him you'll burn in hell instead

it's not because you're evil, it's not because you're bad,

it's just because the sinful nature passed on from your dad

descending down from ancient times when man broke link with life

and opened up the door for every wicked vice and strife

it took a year or so from then

but I got what's called "born again"

a term describing life within

which gives us power over sin

and all the curse upon this earth

the glory of the second birth

so that's how love disguised itself

and knocked some sense into myself

it found me on my way alas

and lovingly it kicked my ass

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!