Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-27 - retread blues

you only needed a friend

someone who's there till the end

but I was out being cool

a driven dreamer, a fool...

.

I guess I wasn't that strong

I guess my feelings were wrong

I guess I waited too long

I just got lost in my song

.

you were a victim of fear -

a memory not so dear

an evil treacherous sin

traumatic force breaking in

.

try as I might I fell short

with every breath I'd resort

to be the man that you'd need:

get on my knees, intercede

.

I was a horse running free

I bucked all captivity

you were at home feeling blue

I wasn't there much for you

.

"too little too late," they say

then someone took you away

while I was running around

you searched for some stable ground

.

I guess I wasn't that strong

I guess my feelings were wrong

I guess I waited too long

I just got lost in my song

.

man, if you got you a lady

please hear these words I'm relating

she needs your comfort and care

especi'ly when you're not there

.

make sure you're there when she's down

don't you go out on the town

don't leave her home night and day

to make that overtime pay

.

or you'll be sorry some day

you may find she went astray

you see, she may act the part

but she needs all of your heart

.

not just your smoothe talk and bling

she needs to know you're her king

something you earn with your deeds

so satisfy all her needs

.

or you'll be singing with me

a man who's single and free

desiring intimacies

so bored with hootchie missies

.

who think their snatch is a tease

they're prob'ly filled with disease

I can't be happy with these

bereft of true loyalties

.

and no I don't mean to judge

I know that men can be sluts

I'm saying, find someone true

and treat her better than you

.

for life is more than right now

you've got to live it somehow

as if your partner and you

are more important than two

.

you've got to live for the "us"

you've got to give more or bust

or you'll be over -- apart

like me -- a retread at heart

.

I guess I wasn't that strong

I guess my feelings were wrong

I guess I waited too long

I just got lost in my song

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!