Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-10-10 - Cross-eyed X-ray Me

Wanting in my heart to do
all that is required by You
I struggled with temptation - true
I didn't always make it through...

but You were always there for me
more than natural eyes could see
even my desire to be
faithful came from Your mercy

for on that dark and terrible day
when perfect justice had its way
You were hanging on display
to show me love that never fades

And all my hopes and all my dreams
flowed out of You like crimson streams
as You caught breath on criss-crossed beams
and death had won or so it seemed

but You had more to give
I found the will to live

for there upon that bloody scene
You cried aloud with all Your being

"Father forgive them..." (recompense)
"...they don't know..." (our pled defense)

"...what they're doing" (our case made)
"It is finished" (sin debt paid)

"Eli... Eli... lama sabachthani"
(OmniPresence please come back to me)

There alone in Your humanity
Cut off from Your own divinity

You transfixed in pain 'unreal'
all that skin and bone could feel

In Your final dying breath
"Into Your hands..." (even in death)

"...I commend..." (surrendered all)
"...all that I am" (spirit's call)

Deep called unto deep
Prayed my soul to keep

With all flesh had hope in
Hell was split wide open

Perfection became cursed
The best became the worst

There at that dark scene
All my past was cleaned

Even though the minions plotted
Their conspiracy alotted

To a larger secret plan
To destroy the Son of Man

So You could die in our place
Son of God in time and space

Come to earth in flesh and blood
Ark of safety from the flood

Judgement poured out on Yourself
Love meant more to You than health

Sick with all our human sin
You met ends where we begin

You gave up your mortal skin
You became our death within

Somehow there behind the scenes
You became our only means

of escape from satan's barter
he was sly but You were smarter

he conspired to cut You down
put and end to Your renoun

but in doing so he stepped
right into the trap you prep'd

he became the execution
that was Your only solution

for the guilty such as we
You were judged to set us free

but You still had more to give
You were raised that we might live

no more under power of sin
You were raised up in Your skin

Flesh and bone was drained of blood
but Light came in just like a flood

and You were raised up from the dead
crushing satan's poison head

Rising up You made the way
Born of spirit we can say

We are raised up in Your wake
You came down our souls to take

Paid our ransom with Your love
That's why I can look above

All that tries to steal my crown
All the stink that's goin round
All the funk in funkytown
None of that can drag me down

Resurrection power in me
Lifts me up to the nth degree
Far above all misery
Free from sickness poverty
death and satan's rivalry
nothing else could ever be
what You have become for me
I'm one with divinity
All because of Calvary

You shot right through me
Gave me sight to see
You've done this to free

Cross-eyed X-ray me

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!