Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-06 - 7:59 a.m.

once upon a time

back when I was just a young boy

I messed around with a lot of things

I played with life like it was a toy

.

I fooled around

until I was drownin'

(drownin' in sin)

.

well, I reached for this and then I reached for that

I fed myself on sin until I didn't know where it was at

kickin' round with other people, livin' a life of lies

I was someone very easy to despise

the devil he ran me like a donkey chasin' a carrot on a string

I thought I knew what was wrong with everything

.

then one day I want you to know I met someone

so real, soul feel, as if my life has just begun

retaining all the good, took away the bad,

even on my worst day now it's better than the best I had

.

.

.

there's a way to keep a treasure

far beyond all worldly measure

not a soul could take it even if they tried

.

there's a magic in the mix

an instantaneous head-heart fix

a funeral service for a soul that died

.

and I will never mourn the loss

of that which stunk upon the cross

no more than I would miss an excised tumor

.

for there a super magnet drew

all the refuse mankind knew

I tell you folks this isn't just a rumor

.

wouldn't trade this treasure for a short-lived life as ruler

it's not something that you measure by your noodle or your tooler

don't think of staind glass windows or you'll miss the entire thing

this isn't pomp and circumstance, nor ragtime choir sing

it's more like waking up on a sunny cool spring day

and feeling like a child again with nothing in the way.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!