Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-08-02 - beyond the door

let these words fall on the page
words you'll never hear
softly cool the mindless rage
that once came out of fear
silently they speak of me
a cool and soothing vibe
longing just to set you free
and help you to survive

this goes out to all the ones
you know who you are
the gotyourback and backupguns
who help me near and far
my silent partners, guides and guards
my gifts from heaven and the yards
and all who make this much less hard
to say what comes with no regard
yes, this goes out to you
the loyal and the few
the faithful and the true
who help me make it through

may God's love guide your heart
when it seems you must depart
from all conventional means
and work behind the scenes
your work's appreciated
it may seem a bit ill-fated
but at the end of all we can do
there's a strength beyond me and you

now I must confess it's true
my passions mix in too
sometimes we write the tale
other times read braille
sometimes the tail wags us
weigh lays us in the dust
sometimes like Nightingale
our love won't let us fail
to nurse the ill to health
not for reward or wealth

some of you still wonder
about the sons of thunder
those brothers once so zealous
and some are a little bit jealous?
that I would give attention
to the lady I will not mention
now don't jump to conclusions
I know there's been some confusions
truth be told I relinquished
a love I could not extinguish
based on my love for the truth
and the unspoken promise of youth
that would lead to the promised land
there were things even I didn't understand
I was led by the fire and the hot iron brand
some of it was at my command
but there was something more
just beyond the door...

don't judge by what you see my friends
there's you, there's me, there's aliens
not extraterrestrial types I mean
but renegade forces behind the scene
and then there's matters of the heart
I'll guard those secrets from the start
All I can tell you is love is the plan
And blessed me with this sweet young Gran
I know you think you understand
you think I'm thinking like a man
but there was so much more
just beyond the door...

again there's things that I hold dear
there's things afar and things come near
orbital and nebulous
veritably incredulous
and I had held a dream for her
not necessarily me for her
and then it happened sure as light
a man was formed from the dust just right
a mighty man who could rule the night
full of life and sure to excite
so I had to let her go
because deep inside I know
though I'd liked to have kept her for me
there's only so much I can be
she then felt like a daughter to me
And I was blessed (as I'm sure was he)

I can't go beyond where I'm sent
but this was a time well spent
if you doubt me just look at the fruit
if need be we'll dig up the root
but please take my word as before
your forbearance and trust I implore
I wasn't just walking the floor
or shopping the pooty on tour
or robbing the cradle du jour
there was something I couldn't ignore
it was God doing so much more
love beyond reason's in store
and it lies just beyond the door...


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!