Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-12-26 - recreation

when I was a child
barefoot, running wild
faith could not enjoin
I burned, fought and defiled

breaking, entering,
cursing everything
I stabbed my best friend's groin
I found him annoying

I smashed a bottle down
upon another's crown
all this before age nine
I terrorized my town

when I was in 4th grade
I tried to play it straight
I thought I would do fine
till I lent my switchblade

to a friend for show and tell and
then Sister Mary Helen
retrieved it from my desk
she thought I was a felon

all bets were off by then
it isn't easy when
you'd rather take the risk
for some form of attention

as time went on I learned
to steal more than I earned
in High School I found drugs
I popped, shot-up and burned

carnivorous canibus leaves
by ounces, pounds and keys
I'd rip off friends an thugs
no honor among thieves

I've been on my own
always been alone
even in a crowd
just a rolling stone

never felt as one
after it was done
though I laughed out loud
yes, I've had my fun

But I could not belong
to the raging throng
not whole-heartedly
was there something wrong?

A sucking, dark black hole
Deep inside my soul
An evil part of me
That tried to take control.

Now some called me deranged
Some said I could not change
But I am here to say
Though it might sound quite strange

The wretch that I was then
Was lost and dead within
Until there came a day
My heart was born again

Yes, much to my surprise
God opened up my eyes
I saw myself in truth
Somebody to despise

And through the cross of Christ
My spirit was baptized
The sins I did in youth
Were nailed and chastized

What nothing else could do
Good spells, witchcraft, voodoo
God's love has done for me
And it will do for you

There is one sacrifice
That pays redemption's price
Just one way to be free
From our self-ruled device

Jesus said "be there"
follow His word to where
you die to this world and then
take up your electric chair

die to all that binds you
and let these words remind you
you must be born again
for God's good will to find you


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!