Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-01-21 - unlikely source of blessing

One day while at my parents
out running odds and errands
I passed him in the door
he wasn't like before
just a hollow shell
sucking life like hell
his body like a corpse
his face held no remorse
a craving sort of ravenous rabid beast
looked at me through a gaze I quick released
his clothes strewn in the street
he rummaged through the beats
that ever drove him madly toward his death
the poison stench of crack was on his breath
there in the fills and breaks
where all sane sense forsakes
the gathering of denizens begins
torturing their victim from within
for things undone that should've
and "only if I could've"
and "no one ever takes me as I am"
and "oh what's the use!? who gives a damn?"
and all those lame excuses
the reasons for abuses
that self-inflict and drag down to dismay
I didn't say a word just walk away
I breathed out loud compelled at once to pray

What in the world has happened to that guy?!?!

In life he was someone I knew as my...
my buddy and my friend,
my mentor, and again,
I'd helped him through a turbulent time or ten

I didn't see him much more after then
I thought of how I warned him way back when
I saw him down that road
I told him "Let God bear your load"
and he said "everything's so wonderful and real!"
I told him, "yeah, I know exactly how you feel..."
"but you can't go that way
you know it might feel right today
but there's tomorrow and you'll surely have to pay... the piper comes collecting for his play... and you know there's no free lunch anyway..."
he said, "don't worry 'bout me, I'm just as happy as can be"
and I went on severely standing in my stance
I'd seen the hidden trapdoor in this dance
but now he's back again, my old buddy, my old friend,
and he's saying Jesus saved his bloody neck
and he's telling everyone I was correct
he's been clean for now ten months
he's come home and all at once
I realize that I'm no good at second guessing
For this man is God's unlikely source of blessing

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!