Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-03-02 - Terribly Sweet

Just when time seemed occupied
with moments in the hour
of the roller coaster ride
where you came into power
the ups and downs, they signified
that beauty could be sour
and sweetness just a taste that lied
beneath the lotus flower

fertilizer for the rise
upward toward the airy skies
and hydroponic roots with ties
to nothing solid under

what is learned is watered down
if there is no plot of ground
if erosion's all that's found
is it any wonder?

there's no anchor to secure
even friendships can't be sure
and the water is impure
so what makes right the blunder?

once I had a friend who fell
and opened up to me to tell
how he wasn't doing well
he'd cast his life asunder

he was once a well hung stud
but his wallow in the mud
left him feeling much like crud
death had pulled him under

he even said he wanted to die
and we were both extremely high
it started to kill my buzz
(we were tripping is what it was)
and I didn't know what to say
first thought was to just turn away
but I had been raised from a child
(even though I had turned out so wild)
to know about one thing that's true
there is someone who cares about you
someone who knows every thought
(at least that's what I had been taught)
so I started to tell him there's hope
in this darkness wherein we all grope
there's a God who forgives and makes right
as I spoke we became bathed in light!
as we sat in that park in the night
there was something that came into sight
his entire bad trip became bright
and something had altered his plight
and it changed the whole course of our time
it was warm and secure and sublime!
now people will say what they will
"perhaps you imagined that thrill"
"it must have been really good stuff!"
"you just manifested enough
of your spirit to guide that lost soul,
or whatever you said took control..."
But I know it was outside of me
This terribly sweet entity
which changed my perspective, you see
apparently as it did he
and the rest of the night we had fun
talking about this God who is one
and now as I look back on that time
and I share it with you in this rhyme
I realize that time was undone
on that night when I spoke of this one
and he led me from there to this place
where I know of his ways and this space
is no longer a nebulous drift
but a well structured chord that he riffed
and a song that continues to beat
with this God who's so terribly sweet.

So come to this table and eat
for without Him we live in defeat
and our lives will remain incomplete
ever searching to fill that void seat
the one in the place where we meet
reserved for the terribly sweet.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!