Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-02-18 - laser carved initials

all seriousness aside
deleriousness of pride
is humbling us in ways we fail to see
(thank God we don't perceive ourselves as He)
but on a heavier note
our blindness is by rote
it's little things we often fail to see
the kind that come between both you and me

the difference is this truth that I have found
like branches in the stupid tree which pound
my back, neck, head and knee on the way down
it catapults me naked into town

there's nothing left to hide
except what empty pride
remains in me as I search for a cover
(by nature I'm a fighter not a lover)
any freak you out disguise
which might help you sort the lies
as these words which I surmise
swat the flies off of your eyes and we discover
there's something bigger than both of our persuasion
that insists we live according to some equation
as surely as tax misrepresentation
or some erroneous computation
comes back somehow and bites you in the ass
I've learned to fight for love before I pass
Those branches and the shards of truth I see
cut into every known hypocrisy
you'll never know the creases in my hands
unless you understand what love demands
prefaithfulness is somehow what is planned
as something to be grasped for where you stand
I don't know that I can say,
"I was walking along one day
and suddenly a wormhole opened up
and swallowed up my future loving cup..."
for the one I have in mind
she is worth all I decline
on my way into the future where we live
until that day I'll sacrifice and give
and wrestle with temptation
instant gratification
and other things which never benefit us
(imposters who would like to come, git wit us)
...the light of love is ever ubiquitous

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!