Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-11-01 - fidelity and self-respect

though mountains crumble to the sea
this love remains for you and me
errosion takes away the beach
but there's a word within our reach
receive instruction from the fool
each day's new dawn becomes your school
7 minutes spent alone
everyday till you are known
by yourself as you reflect:
fidelity and self-respect

I have a certain point of view
I'd like to spend some time with you
but I'm too busy chasing down
all the things I've lost and found
some filed away and some remain
in boxes waiting for my brain
to process through and organize
but time alludes my tired eyes
my interest is already piqued
for you, my love, this truth I speak:
I'm not the one to help appease
your many personalities

though I would love to be your friend
bring all those voices to an end
I'd like to be your super man
but I know better where I stand
I'm not the one to set you free
I'd get caught up in your sweet plea
Defending you before the court
And all the while I'd be the sport
of every spirit that conspires
to tie you down with ropes and wires
and other sweet seducing things
piano wires and chello strings

so if you want to be my friend
I'll stay with you until the end
but I can't be accessory
to your multiplicity
no, I can't be like that with you
there's only one thing I can do
be a friend and pray for you
The way of love is strong and true.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!