Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-07-26 - hyper-pretensive

I said, "hey! how did you do it like that!?"

she said, "do what?"
she said, "do what?"

turns out it was all like baby fat
she had to cut
she had to cut

"how could you, so smart," I said, "just throw it all away?"

she pointed to her heart and head, "we do it every day...

how could I, a dream come true, melt down and self destruct?

I do what I want to do and always end up shucked."

she took an oyster from the pile
stuck the knife in with a smile
flipped the blade and sucked the meat
"without the pain I'm incomplete...
it's all I've ever known," she said,
"I've claimed it as my own death bed
it's affirmation for this girl
as irritation forms the pearl
as gold of worth from severed earth
and blood must purge the afterbirth..."
and on and on she rambled on
of lovers who had come and gone
and how she couldn't love just one
and when it was all said and done
she was empty
and none could fill her
so she tempted
fate's son to kill her...

then came the song on the satellite
soothing her to sleep in the dead of night,

"are you there?
say a prayer
for the pretender
who started out so young and strong
only to surrender"


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!