Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-01-13 - circa1970

I come home to the place I dwell
a sanctuary, all is well,
turn on TV, lie on the couch
how could I complain or grouch?
this place it sets my mind at ease
and I survived the 70's

back then life wasn't as secure
oh it was easy, to be sure,
living in my parents home
free to hang, free to rome,
but haunted by uncertainties
and I survived the 70's

burned-out from High School partying
Each job I worked was so boring
It never worked out like it should
Tomorrow looked like nothing good
My friends all worked toward their degrees
Me? I survived the 70's.

I started out a long-haired freak
I tripped on acid every week
I met the queen of all my dreams
But even love goes bad it seems
My heart got colder by degrees
And I survived the 70's

My 21st birthday came around
I packed the Duster and left town
And headed south on 95
I had to keep my dream alive
And hide away where no one sees
Would I survive the 70's

In that island paradise
I fought the demons of my vice
I often thought of suicide
So many nights I groaned and cried
Wrestling with some soul disease
Did I survive the 70's

I joined the Navy to receive
some discipline and take my leave
of all the drugs and wanderlust
I said "go see the world or bust!"
I sought to sail the seven seas
And to survive the 70's

The year was 1979
I tried to leave the mess behind
but "everywhere you go," they say,
"there you are" and there I'd stay
I didn't rehabilitate
I got dropped from my learning rate
they put me on a ship of fools
(I never did too good in schools)
I lived off base with sluts and thugs
we partied and got off on drugs
until one night I almost died
which really helped me to decide
to move back onto base and turn
away from those who never learn
and that is how I came to know
someone who told me where to go
and how to get there, if you please
And I survived the 70's

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!