Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-12 - 4:01 p.m.

Glimpses, images, fleeting thought

monuments of lessons taught

when I was but twenty years old

I ventured out into the cold

over thicket, log and creek

a hike to get where life can speak

forging on till bended knee

revealed a single seedling tree

alone, surviving winter's snow,

so very young, so far to go;

it didn't take a wick to see

that budding stick pertained to me

the message came home clear that day

I prayed for life and turned away

and headed back before sunset

I wasn't ready, not quite yet.

[Twenty years go by and by

My oh my how time does fly]

one day on travel in Japan

I read the story of a man

while visiting a monument

I think near Ginza, where he spent

a lifetime, many years ago,

a prophet and a wiseman known

for greatness in the way he lived

for how he'd tirelessly give

and when he died, his one request

was that his final place of rest

would be beneath the city street

a symbol of humility

creatively inspiring me

that one so great could ever be

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!