Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-09-03 - Piasa

Tim and I explored the cave
on the bluffs by the river road
Piasa was all the rave
the caves were once his abode
a giant bird as legend told
once lived among these parts
its features fierce and and dark and bold
struck fear in Indians' hearts
they painted its image on the face
of cliffs to tell the tale
preserved until these very days
where memory might fail
of mighty birds of prey which once lived among these stones
and hid out in the caves which were littered with men's bones
Tim and I dug dirt at the mouth of the cave
searching for some fossils or an arrowhead to save
instead we found some human bones yellowed ripe with age
and talked about the Piasa - that bird with all the rage.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!