Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-01-19 - mixedemotions

A lady friend I liked
A glass of seltzer, spiked
Was someone whom I'd hoped
Might turn out, so I coped,
Forebearing, if you please,
Her idiosyncracies
She promised she would call
The next day, after all
Her interviews and such...
So we would stay in touch...
The next night came and went
And Friday night was spent
Wondering again
Why she would promise, then
Forget about our date
Forsake me, make me wait,
I called and got voice mail
I said, Hey why'd you bail?
Or something lame like that
I guessed where she was at
Her interview went well
I won't ask, she won't tell,
I spoke with her last night
And though there was no fight
I had to set it right
I couldn't leave for spite
Who knows someday she might
Need someone who is tight
Or someone she can trust
It wouldn't pay to bust
But I must cut my losses
Take heads or tails in tosses
I know sometimes what sauces
The interview with bosses
Is what a girl can offer
Some booty in the coffer
And we were only friends
So that's the way it ends
But I won't shut the door
I just won't hope for more
Who knows someday she must
Need someone she can trust
So I just need to stay away,
For now at least, and only pray
not that there might come a day
not to hope for more, per se,
but just in case she needs someone
it wouldn't be right to come undone
because of selfish drives in me
vain hopes for more, romantic'ly...

and no one here is naming names
I just need time to cool these flames

Some prayer to cool these passions
Don't let them cut off rations
Let me be used to help, protect,
honor, bless, love and respect
even when I must suspect
that she left town in retrospect
to have a fling to nail the job
with some exec, some weasel slob

I've done my share of stupid things
I shouldn't care
(even though it stings)
And how messed up would it be
If I should close the door to me
Because of selfish feelings for
Someone who wanted less than more?

God,
Don't let protection burn with affection
I'm dead to all who are dead to You
I can't blame - I need correction
I give in to feelings too
I don't trust her, that's for sure
But I don't trust my thoughts impure
I have learned through my heart quest
That people love what's not theirs best
Excepting love and faithfulness
A lost love art... but I digress
So... nothing. Nix. I pray for nought.
True love cannot be sold or bought
It's something that's more caught than taught
And for this I'm overwrought...
My new strategy as of late
Is to quell this urge to mate
In favor of a friend, but wait,
Someone I can trust to date

Till then, my friend, commiserate
No, I won't call and I won't wait,
I won't be yours to tolerate
I won't think twice, I won't debate,
I won't sink anymore about you
I won't drink to a whore, toodle-loo,
I won't ask what for, or spew
anymore of this emotional goo
You won't know what I go through
I've got other things to do
And plenty of other friends to pursue
But just the same I'm here for you
If you need someone who's true
If you need a friend or two
Maybe I'll be around a few
a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do

And who knows...

who's known is who we knew.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!