Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-26 - gardensnake

it started with a real down homey feel

we were all on time and we were keepin' it real

but there's a snake in the garden

I'll be beggin' your pardon

all the details won't devulge

all the reasons why I don't indulge

you see I know what it does so I got new shoes

maybe it's because I got issues

a fountain of life in the midst of blues

sweet pre-paid gross revenues

laid-up, laid-back, laid in store

now I understand what the back beat's for

I got mesmerized

I got super-sized

the way you compose and synthesize

how the synnergistic flow

it'll harmonize

with a voice that you don't know

as it unifies

a frequency of freaky free

intermediate symphony

I'm tellin' you folks it's a crazy sight

when melody, harmony and bass is tight

and something else enjoins when the mood is right

when we all get together on a moonlit night

one time I overheard that ol' Snoop Dog say

of the pop departure from the Motown Way

(it was all about the music way back in the day)

those people knew their music and they knew how to play

and it stuck in my craw and it made me think

it's not the luck of the draw or the fine black ink

not percussion and bass and repetitive stink

it's a freedom within form and sounds that stay in sync

no wonder real music is almost extinct,

not completely gone but it's on the brink

of disaster, ever faster,

like a lummox out to pasture

elements dissolving down into the crust

decomposition of the bull or bust

music is the order of the notes you trust

will blend together evenly like magic dust

and carry on the wings the heart enraptured by

the over-all wooings and words that may apply

internal undoings that break and make you cry

the secret things that friendship brings and wings to fly

the penetrating soul invading love that every man and lady

ever to be swept away by something that is here to stay

feels in some cool strange new way

like unseen wind that causes sway

a confidence - an inner pause

reflection on some higher laws

associations lift you up

sharing peace within their cup

brim to lips and grin to sips

and soon your concentration slips

to something true beyond your view

a cognizance of breaking through

and time's reflection at your door

you've got to know there's something more

it'll work anyhow, any way, anywhere

there's love for you please don't dispair

it's right within your whispered prayer

your pre-paid all expense paid fare

it's all about what takes you there

this love will guard you -- snakes beware.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!