Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-02-05 - LifeGuard

remember when you found me
the waves about to drown me
barely keeping head above the foam
sinking down into a depth unknown
now up on the beach
learning how to teach
as I learn the lessons I once shunned
I was so self-willed, stubborn and dumb
still am sometimes I fear
but now with your love near
I will not turn away as I did then
it only took the undertow of sin
to show me I was helpless, weak and lost
and desperately in need of how the cross
ransoms me from prison to my sin
frees me from the chains I bore within
rescues me from that which dragged me down
and cleanses me from sins that tried to drown
for Christ met all demands
when they nailed his feet and hands
holy righteous God made man
it was all part of your plan
to set us free
it was your love reaching out to rescue me
it was justice satisfied
it was Christ the crucified
taking on his perfect soul our guilt and shame
even though he'd done no wrong he took the blame
and now I catch my breath upon the beach
learning how your mercy wants to reach
to every sinking soul
tell them how you made me whole
for this Jesus did not stay dead in the ground
no he rose up three days later at the sound
of your voice when at once you said
hey the sin debt has been paid
so now be raised up bodily from the grave
catch all those who believe up in the wave
raise them from their sin-bound ways
fill their hearts with thanks and praise
the royal lifeguard team comprised of those
for whom Christ Jesus, suffered, died, arose!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!