Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-09-24 - go4gold


Don't you know that all those who race

Compete for the gold - to come in first place?

For this moment each did train.

So run that you may obtain.

Every man who strives to win

Is temperate in this regimen:

dietary practice, workout routine,

Every act must conform to this scene...

Now they exercise to win a gold medal that fades

But we fight for a prize - eternal glory that won't age

Therefore I so run as one who stays within the lane

Not as one who wavers on the track on which I train...

Therefore I so fight as one whose punches clean the clocks

Not as one who beats the air when I square off to box...

But I keep my body under control

I'd rather bruise my mortal soul

and bring it into subjection

I implement correction

Lest I ruin my testimony

Flesh out and become a phony

I'd rather blacken my own eyes

Than to be caught in compromise

lest I become disqualified

and mislead those for whom Christ died....

I'd rather blacken my own eye, be ostracized, socially die, take myself, kick my own ass, leave my job and drop my class, than risk the thing that matters most: the reason I must guard this post: the Father, Son and Holy Ghost, for whom my dream comes true, to give this love to you, to share one thing that's true, God's great love for you, and all that He went through, the cross - our payment due, when Christ went there for you, so you'd know this love too...

[1st Corinthians 9:24-27 -- paraphrased]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!