Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-06-02 - bag it up

Why did I think I wanted it?
Like a cigarette I lit
and just as quickly put it away
tamped it out into my old ash tray
Why do I delude myself into thinking I
want something so bad it makes me try
Only to find it is but so many strands
grains of sands
seeping through my hands
Why did I go on my way
reaching for the soup of the day
wisps of smoke wafting down the avenue?
When all I ever wanted...
all I really wanted...
all I ever wanted...

...was you.

You. I took you into town
looked you up and down.
I filed you away in a folder
Said maybe I will take you when you're older
I thought you were a commonplace distraction
I thought you were a passing phase attraction
I pulled you out from time to time
admired your face your photo mime
Your beautiful shape.
Your neck. Your nape.
Your sweet and shy appeal.
The way you made me feel.
The way you put on weight
from chef things you'd create
and so filled out those jeans.
Damn you looked so mean.

The sexiest I'd seen.
But that's not what I mean.

This is more than lust
This was based on trust
This should not go bust
How can we say "dust"

I'll tell you how
So listen now
It's over like a pulled pork sow
It's over like a dry milk cow
It's over like a broken vow
It wouldn't have worked out anyhow
It's over and it cannot be again
Sometimes you have take it on the chin

That's the way love goes they say
It won't come back another day
It hoists the sails and lightens up the load
It won't be waiting for you down the road
You're out of here so don't you even start
You've made your choice so get out of my heart!

you stupid girl I love you you're so smart
it serves me right that all I have is art!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!