Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-09-08 - flyawaybefree

A bird stuck in my screened-in porch
could not find her way out
I held the door and said go forth
did all but scream and shout
outside was dark so she just stayed
up in the rafters overhead
I gently spoke and tried to aid
her exodus from captive dread

but still she didn't fly
not sure exactly why
perhaps afraid to try
I left her by and by

I shut the inner door
but left the outer open
cut off the light
what's more
I didn't stand there hopin

I went inside to spend the night
and left her all alone
and found that in the new day's light
that captive bird had flown.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!