Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-08-22 - dadsong

home from the place I must go
to labor for what I don't know
apart from this vision I had
to be your provider and dad

do you know how much I love you so?
how my heart goes with you where you go?
I've known you before you were born
I've known what it's like to feel torn
each moment I couldn't be there
a snafu I couldn't repair
and time goes by ever so fast
the summer has nearly gone passed...

but I see you and my heart is glad
know that God has blessed me as your dad
if nothing else happens to me
I'm still more than I hoped to be
If I go to my rest
I'm still more than blessed
for that God gave me you and you me

now I know there were times it got tough
and some of my tactics were rough
but we always got through it
and if I could redo it
I'd probably change just enough
to make time for marital stuff

but somehow you still turned out right
and I'm overwhelmed by the sight
of seeing you grow strong and true
this dadsong is written for you

you're grown now so this may seem cheesey
but this dad's song didn't come easy
no matter the price
I'd pay it all twice
if that's what it cost me to be
your dad - but you're God's gift to me!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!