Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-25 - betterway

everyone has a story to tell
some of them will bore you to hell
mine was forged within a spell
a dream that kept me trying
I didn't fit in very well
I got back up each time I fell
but youth is such a fragile shell
we never dreamt of dying
I've read and heard and seen some things
experiential reasonings
supportive evidence findings
that seem like indications
there's price tags on sensations
on customer relations
contract negotiations
I suffered all these things
to see what freedom brings
and looking back I find
that something plagued my mind
inferiority complex
a fear of what defeat reflects
my mama raised me to respect
the rights of other souls
but as I strove for goals
some people acted strange
you could say quite deranged
as if they would destroy
my mama's young sweet boy
they pushed me down into the dirt
took my toys and did me hurt
as I just lay upon the ground
wailing with a crying sound
tears and dirt all in my face
I'm sure her teaching had its place
share and love and please play nice
it all was very good advice
until she saw me lying there
balling up into the air
she had a sudden realization
a teaching reconsideration
and told me to defend myself
(sometimes a fight's good for your health)
but as that time turned to the past
and lessons learned came hard and fast
I envied those who brazenly
could go on their hell raisin' spree
or stare at someone without fear
of being disrespectful, leer,
come right up to them and smile
making faces all the while
stare right in the car window
make them wish the line would go
I admired such balls of steel
but it wasn't how I'd feel
I would fake it when I could
but it didn't feel too good
baby boys can learn to fight
suck it up and "do it right"
kick and cuss and rue the day
till the guilt comes back to stay
unless they're psychpaths they say
that they can't feel guilt anyway
that is why good mothers pray
for boys who learn the better way

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!