Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2010-02-08 - alleyoop

well I remember
when I was little
all I ever knew
was an ember
a sunday missile
and what not to do

out in the forests
across the alleys
backyards roads and fields
we reigned as warriors
with rock fight rallies
and trashcan lids as shields

we knew our allies
we knew the traitors
we knew our enemies
we knew to be wise
among the haters
we learned on our skinned knees

with pellet guns and
wrist-rocket slingshots
technology - it grew
switchblades and nuns and
thieves market pocket watches
it's all I ever knew

it's all I ever knew

it's all I ever knew...

well I remember
when I was older
all I ever knew
was keep your temper
and use my shoulder
and do what rebels do

well I remember
when it was time to
grow up and be a man
wouldn't surrender
was not inclined to
I didn't have a plan

well I remember
knowing no care
no will to stay alive
the great pretender
was going nowhere
his love did not survive

well I remember
I heard the answer
as if it was brand new
it was september
spiritual cancer
it screamed and off it flew
I read with wonder
I felt the thunder
I felt the morning dew
I read the words and
I saw my blunder
my life was born anew

my life was born anew

my life was born anew.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!