Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-16 - 12:22 a.m.

somewhere on a shadow leaf

cast upon the ground with grief

a groove cut into nature's face

leads to a melancholy place

the foliage covered undergrowth

beneath the limbs of shadowed host

convalesce with lay of land

and seek to hide labor of hand

trenches reminiscent of

a time to rend the land of love

former lovers there embraced

in the bosom of that place

torn asunder by the pain

never there to love again

hands outstretched to make amends

the shadow leaf tries to pretend

as I walk past remembering when

the insurrection now and then

even winter's branch stripped bare

cannot disguise the hand of care

its owner now becomes aware

there really isn't too much there

until the blockage wears away

and shadows fade with yesterday

preoccupation doesn't sway

benevolence in any way

the shadow leaf looks like a hand

with none to give, none to demand

though cast upon the ground with grief

the branch projected has no leaf

as I continue on my way

reflecting on the backlit ray

eclipsed by nothing, I must say,

what was that shadow anyway?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!