Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-08 - Better Blessed

I don't think I miss out --

you must be joking, right?

let me just get this out --

I'm not provoking fights

did you forget who you were talking to?

do we have more confession time to do?

nice try -- whatever, clever you,

perhaps you have forgotten, foo

my problem is that I enjoy

the high of being the bad boy

I don't think I've really missed a thing

I've had it all my way on a shoestring

The thing I struggle with is that,

"how much fun can I go have

and still make it to heaven when I'm done?"

Because I know the verdict has been won

because I know God's grace is there

for me -- I wouldn't have a prayer

if not for Him who brings me to my knees

but I'd love to get as freaky as you please

I know that when I do go out I always have a blast

I know what it is all about, I'd love to smack that... ask

I'll answer and you will not have to guess

I know how to get down (not to excess)

and that's what scares me in some wit

because sin always has a price on it

even if forgiven there is still

consequences and I know that if I will

go into it with presumption

attitude with this assumption

that God in His great love will bail me out

His sovereignty will not be mocked about

and He knows how to corral my wayward soul

and bring me to the place of safe control

where I'm humbled, as it says,

"God opposes pride, blesses

and gives grace to the humble" (paraphrased)

and so I cannot win if I stay in such ways

if I pridefully go on with this

in any form -- licentiousness,

it's not a pretty thing at its conclusion

I don't need to get off into that confusion

I have to be humble and pray for grace

to resist temptation learn to face

this glorious and wondrous gracious love

freedom granted us from God above

not use grace as a supply base for the flesh

(carnal passions)and yes, gratifying sex

I need to use grace to resist

rather than as a license to kiss

pursue whatever titilates my senses

or at least make sure I subsidize expenses

Make sure that it is meaningful

lick the honey pot and bowl

something not superficial

and mutually beneficial...

you see now, there I go...

making way for hot loopholes!

anyway, you got to know

I'm not without the scruples

how was your weekend, by the way?

is there something I can say

appropriately confess my way

to being someone you can truly trust?

a friend through thick and thin and magic dust?

a someone who will be a random stranger

not an obligating schedule rearranger...

or perhaps we'll drive off in my offroad ranger

and you'll only feel that pleasant sense of danger

whatever turns you on, as long as you still belong

to the only one whom you can truly trust

the God who's always merciful and just

the safeguard of the outermost extremes

the one who can fulfill all of your dreams

as long as they are good ones

not the clockwork orangey hood ones

with the horrorshow delight and carnage ploy

those are not the kinds I want you to enjoy

we don't do those, so lets cast them to the ground

loose those spirits not consistant, heavenbound

and if you need we'll focus on those things

long enough to cast them out and bring

deliverance from the evil beast

I'll help you to discern at least

about the time the power hits your head

and all unfriendlies cower as though dead

screaming out "my precious" in their dread

and melting in the sea of lava, red

just like Gollum clinging to his doom

I'll show you how to clean each room

it's easy when you know the one

who rules inside the hearts of sons

made sufficient only by his strength

I'd love to talk this out with you at length

so hit me up sometime we'll make the scene

I'll pray for you and you'll see what I mean

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!